Cannot change OSDKADDR value

Here you can ask questions or provide insights about how to use efficiently 6502 assembly code on the Oric.
simozzer
1st Star Corporal
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2023 7:26 pm

Cannot change OSDKADDR value

Post by simozzer »

I've working on a program which uses assembly language with the OSDK.

The program builds fine with SET OSDKADDR=$2000, but I've been running out of memory (I use the area for $6400 - $b3b0 for storing offscreen data) and would like to grab a few more bytes.

I've tried using an earlier OSDKADDRR (e.g $600, or $1000) but the program always crashes when I run it. I've been trying to figure out why this happens, but have failed so far.

Can anyone please suggest why this might be? Or maybe suggest a strategy to investigate the failure?

Thanks.

Simozzer

P.S. Project is available here: https://github.com/simozzer/Oric6502
User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 4989
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Cannot change OSDKADDR value

Post by Dbug »

I tried with $400 without any problem.
Have you tried the osdk_showmap?
simozzer
1st Star Corporal
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2023 7:26 pm

Re: Cannot change OSDKADDR value

Post by simozzer »

Well, this is strange.
$400 works for me, so does $2000
but if I try with $1000, or $600 the program crashes.

I'll go with $400 for now, as this will give me a few more bytes to play with, but will do some investigation with osdk_showmap to see if I can work out a reason for this strange behavior
Post Reply