Securing sources of (official) Oric chips

This is the right place to discuss on how to implement hardware vsync, adding a VIA or AY chipset, puting multiple roms, or how to design a new flash expansion card.
NekoNoNiaow
Flight Lieutenant

Securing sources of (official) Oric chips

Post by NekoNoNiaow »

Hello kitties,

Chema just posted a link to an eBay vendor for an Oric ULA (cf viewtopic.php?p=19421#p19421).
This raised my interest because that vendor obviously has a lot of them for sale so they must have access to a back-then official stock of Oric chips.

Since all the Oric machines will eventually fail, securing sources of their official chips is obviously of interest to the Oric community in order to lengthen as much as possible the life of these machines.

This brought to mind the following questions:
  • This vendor is based in Bulgaria, so they could actually be selling clones of the chips, not the original ones (I am not an expert there, please correct me if that is wrong).
    I know that there are Bulgarian people in the community, so maybe they could contact them to ask them what their source is?
  • Should the community organize and buy as many of these chips as is currently available in order to secure that supply for future repair needs?
    Right now, they are still really cheap, so this would be the best time to buy large quantities of them.
What do you guys think?
(I personally think I am going to buy a few dozen of these chips, just to make sure they do not disappear in the wild forever.)
Edit: I bought 20 chips from different vendors, I have no need for them so contact me if you need one for your repairs and I will send it to you for shipping+original price.
ibisum
Wing Commander

Re: Securing sources of (official) Oric chips

Post by ibisum »

I'm in, if there is a community buy being organised.
mikeb
Flight Lieutenant

Post by mikeb »