SedOric-3 and INIT command

This is the best place to discuss about the various Oric operating systems like Sedoric, Randos, FT-Dos, and others.
Post Reply
User avatar
iss
Squad Leader
Posts: 698
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

SedOric-3 and INIT command

Post by iss » Wed Aug 08, 2018 12:12 am

This is my recent Oric-toy configuration:
mypic.jpg
It includes:
- Oric Atmos
- Original Microdisc controller
- Drive A: Gotek floppy emulator with OLED and buzzer mods (I will post more info in separated thread about it).
- Drive B: 3-inch double-sided drive, max 42 tracks.

Everything works perfect, but I found something strange with INIT command.
I boot from drive A and want to format the disk in drive B, so I type the command: INITB,17,42,D
The formatting starts fine, but the drive B is NOT always re-calibrated i.e. the magnetic head is NOT on track 00 and as result the command fails. :(

So, my questions are:
Is this behavior of INIT command already known or it's bug?
Is there a standard way to force drive re-calibration?
Or maybe I do something wrong?

Below is my temporary solution - redrive - small program, Atmos only,
which makes drive re-calibration using FDC1793 command restore.
The attached archive contains DSK, TAP and source! ;).

Any comments are highly appreciated !
Attachments
mypic.jpg
redrive.zip
(31.56 KiB) Downloaded 49 times

User avatar
Dbug
Site Admin
Posts: 2746
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: SedOric-3 and INIT command

Post by Dbug » Wed Aug 08, 2018 5:13 pm

No idea, I guess it's something André Cheramy of the CEO would know about.

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2307
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: SedOric-3 and INIT command

Post by Chema » Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:02 pm

Very nice configuration! Does the bug also happen with older versions of Sedoric?

User avatar
coco.oric
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 455
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:50 am
Location: North of France
Contact:

Re: SedOric-3 and INIT command

Post by coco.oric » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:47 pm

Uh, i'm not an expert but traduce your interrogation in the mag.
May be André or somebody else will be able to solve it
coco.oric as DidierV, CEO Member
Image Image

User avatar
Steve M
Flight Lieutenant
Posts: 441
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 3:33 am
Location: Cumbria, UK
Contact:

Re: SedOric-3 and INIT command

Post by Steve M » Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:05 am

I don't think this happens on a real disk system. So maybe it is something to do with the Gotek?

Try setting the drives with DTRACK and then just INITB. (If I've remember the right command.)
Check the configuration with DSYS.

Post Reply