Identifying Oric-1

Here you can ask questions or provide insights about how to use efficiently 6502 assembly code on the Oric.
Post Reply
User avatar
polluks
Officer Cadet
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 10:09 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Identifying Oric-1

Post by polluks » Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:25 pm

Hi!
Do you know a suitable zero page address to identify an Oric-1?

Thanks,
Stefan
cc65 development
Oric Atmos + Cumulus
Acorn Electron

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2240
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: Identifying Oric-1

Post by Chema » Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:35 pm

I cannot tell by memory but I think I once checked using the address of the interrupt Vector in ROM.

I am nearly sure I did it in Oricium so you can have a look at the sources. Check the keyboard.s file... just in case.

When I get to a computer I may have a look at it.

User avatar
iss
Squad Leader
Posts: 613
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Identifying Oric-1

Post by iss » Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:33 pm

Take a look in Atmos ROM disassembly: http://www.defence-force.org/ftp/oric/d ... sembly.pdf
There are lot places marked with V1.0 and V1.1 which show differences in both versions - most are in page 2.
If the question is exactly for a zero page address then you can use $31 - Screen line width.
In Atmos ?PEEK(#31) returns always 40, in Oric-1 - 80 (or 93 if DOS is loaded) (which is actually BUG :)).
BTW, this is used in SEDORIC too.

User avatar
polluks
Officer Cadet
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 10:09 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Identifying Oric-1

Post by polluks » Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:07 pm

iss wrote:
Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:33 pm
Take a look in Atmos ROM disassembly: http://www.defence-force.org/ftp/oric/d ... sembly.pdf
There are lot places marked with V1.0 and V1.1 which show differences in both versions - most are in page 2.
If the question is exactly for a zero page address then you can use $31 - Screen line width.
In Atmos ?PEEK(#31) returns always 40, in Oric-1 - 80 (or 93 if DOS is loaded) (which is actually BUG :)).
BTW, this is used in SEDORIC too.
Perfect, I will use this.
I can even code:

Code: Select all

BIT $31
BVS ORIC1
cc65 development
Oric Atmos + Cumulus
Acorn Electron

Godzil
Squad Leader
Posts: 758
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Location: Between UK and France
Contact:

Re: Identifying Oric-1

Post by Godzil » Sun Feb 25, 2018 5:59 pm

Honestly I do think it is better to look at the ROM itself as this value is in RAM and can easily be changed

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests