problem with osdk ?

Questions, bug reports, features requests, ... about the Oric Software Development Kit. Please indicate clearly in the title the related element (OSDK for generic questions, PictConv, FilePack, XA, Euphoric, etc...) to make it easy to locate messages.

mmu_man
Flying Officer
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 7:45 pm
Location: 26000 Valence, FRANCE
Contact:

Post by mmu_man » Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:43 am

OTH I found antiques there:
http://www.umich.edu/~archive/atari/8bi ... ages/Cc65/
fp65 package for cc65, wonder how well it works, or if can be reused.
Sadly cc65 has other limitations.

User avatar
Chema
Game master
Posts: 2302
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Gijón, SPAIN
Contact:

Post by Chema » Mon Feb 11, 2008 8:45 pm

Any news about the missing macro Dbug (INDIRS_AD)?

Was trying to compile something and it failed with that error...

Cheers.

User avatar
Twilighte
Game master
Posts: 819
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:07 am
Location: Luton, UK
Contact:

Post by Twilighte » Fri Feb 22, 2008 7:03 pm

I am unsure whether this is the very latest version of OSDK but regardless there are some grammatical issues in the documentation i have read so far..

In "doc_installation.htm"..

"The only important thing you need to do is to set an environment variable to locate the OSDK folder. Starting from this points the make file is able to locate the other files by itself. "

to..

"The first and main thing you need to do is set an environment variable to locate the OSDK folder.
This allows the MAKE file to locate all associated files by itself."

The next paragraph..

"If you install the OSDK on your drive C:\ in a folder OSDK, you simply have to add the following line in your AUTOEXEC.BAT:"

to..

"If you installed the OSDK to your C Drive to a folder called OSDK, you simply have to add the following line in your AUTOEXEC.BAT:"

btw, i use XP here, as alot of people will be on.
For me i did the following which achieved the same thing..

Click Start Menu.
Right click on My Computer
Select Properties
Select Advanced Tab
Click on Environment Variables
Click New to add the new variable.

Note: Windows+Break does not work here on XP Media Center Edition

In the section "Testing if all works" it states..
"Just go to the folder "Osdk\sample\hello_world_simple", and launch "OSDK_BUILD.BAT". You should have the following display: "

The sample directory contains a number of folders and one file. None of which are "hello_world_simple".
That resides here..
"OSDK\sample\assembly\hello_world_assembly"

Further down that same section..

"it simply means you did something wrong in the section (2). Please not that some versions of windows require you to reboot the system before the modifications made to the environment became effective."

To..
"it simply means you did something wrong in the section (2). Please note that some versions of windows require you to reboot the system before the modifications made to the environment became effective.

To avoid a reboot, set the same environment variable/s in a DOS window"

The build folder i tried here (for assembly directory) contains these files..
final.out
HWASM.TAP (not test1.tap)
xaerr.txt

No xalbl.txt file but a symbols file.

I'm using DOSBOX here but what is strange is that the previous problems i had with dosbox and keyboard seem to not exist when called from OSDK. So very cool in my book!!
Although not completely tested it throughout.

Post Reply