Page 2 of 2

Posted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:02 am
by Iapetus
Great start on the Oric Nox.

I come from the C64 too. I have started to code a simple game on the oric, no sprites though :)

Posted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 3:59 pm
by Nox
Well, good luck!
Would be nice to have some games to play around with
(I know there are some bigger ones in development...)

Posted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 5:32 pm
by Twilighte
Wow, that demo is so cool. I'm not sure if the question was asked before but how many characters are used?

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:21 am
by Nox
Since I use both charsets, I have to work with 80 chars
(using the top 16 chars from StdCharSet for the "status panel").

4 Sprites need 48 chars, so I can use 32 for background-gfx (here A-Z and some punctuation).
Sprites have a size eqal to 3x2 chars, so for drawing I need 4x3 chars for each one.

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:42 pm
by Twilighte
As u have probably discovered normally the last 16 alt characters are not available since their definition would reside at the beginning of the Text screen memory.

However sometimes a neat trick to get all 96 available characters in both std and alt character sets is to create a HIRES Inlay then let the alt character definition overrun into the text screen (hidden by the HIRES Inlay).

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 6:40 pm
by Nox
Ok, I try to calculate...
AltChrTable and textscreen are overlapping by 128 bytes.
160 bytes would be 4 lines of text.
So I need a minimum of 32 lines of hires at the top of the screen
(and the maximum is 128 lines before the hiresscreen reaches the StdChrTable).
I will play a bit with that...

And another question: in hires there are 3 lines of text at the bottom.
And there it's possible to print characters, even though the hiresscreen
is using all the the memory for character-definitions.
So the ULA must read the definitions from the ROM I guess.
(and the hires-character-print-function also).
Is it possible for us to do that too?
Or is it possible at least to restore the whole characterset?

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 8:22 pm
by Dbug
The TEXT character sets are from $B400 and $B800 respectively, but the 3 lines of text at the end of the HIRES section uses the adresses $9800 and $9C00.

So technically, if you start in TEXT mode, then at the end of line 25 you insert a SWITCH TO HIRES attribute, you effectively forced the 3 last lines of TEXT to use the other set of adresses.

Re: A little sprite-demo (textmode)

Posted: Wed Dec 11, 2019 4:51 pm
by jbperin
Nox wrote: Wed Feb 24, 2010 3:06 pm
spritedemo.tap
Does anyone have this tap ? I would love to watch this demo and the link seems to be broken .... :?

Re: A little sprite-demo (textmode)

Posted: Wed Dec 11, 2019 5:08 pm
by ibisum
Not sure if this is the original or something else, I tried to run it in Oricutron but it doesn't seem to work .. anyway, maybe it works for you?

Re: A little sprite-demo (textmode)

Posted: Wed Dec 11, 2019 5:35 pm
by Symoon
That's probably it, made by Nox (author of O-Thrust).
Works fine on Euphoric!

Re: A little sprite-demo (textmode)

Posted: Wed Dec 11, 2019 6:37 pm
by christian
Works with Oricutron too

Re: A little sprite-demo (textmode)

Posted: Wed Dec 11, 2019 6:58 pm
by jbperin
ibisum wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2019 5:08 pm maybe it works for you?
:o Wow !! This demo is strong .. It's hard to believe that it is done in text mode .. impressive.
It worked nice for me on oricutron . I just pressed Enter after loading with Load Tape (and perhaps à CLOAD"")
Symoon wrote: Wed Dec 11, 2019 5:35 pm made by Nox (author of O-Thrust)
Outch .. I didn't know O-Thrust .. so nice .. thanks .. Nox rocks !!

Re: A little sprite-demo (textmode)

Posted: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:08 pm
by peacer
I really like the smooth and fast routine..

I wonder if we can use the code for our own games.. Does it have clashing control ? The sprites seems to able to overlap if they come together..